Welcome to AAAP!

Already a member of NAADAC and looking to connect with AAAP? Complete our contact info form here and we will reach out to you with more information on how to join our meetings!

Please read AAAP’s statement and selected resources regarding AHCCCS fraud and targeting of Indigenous people in Arizona.

Follow us on Facebook!

The Arizona Association of Addiction Professionals (AAAP) is the Arizona affiliate of NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals. AAAP promotes awareness of addiction issues in Arizona and advocates for standards for licensure and certification of qualified counselors to ensure the competency basis of those who provide addiction counseling.

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 100,000 addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals in the United States, Canada, and abroad. NAADAC is working to make treatment by nationally certified counselors available to every person who needs it.

NAADAC’s members are addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support and education. Join the nationwide network of NAADAC members who are working to make a positive difference.

The AAAP Executive Board consists of our elected officers and the appointed chairs of each of our standing committees listed below.

Nominations are now open for our open positions – nominees must be current members of NAADAC in order to be eligible to hold office with AAAP. Interested? Please complete this google form: https://forms.gle/mNKyy4Cn3Nz1Eako8 before June 1st, 2023

President: Yvonne Fortier, LPC, LISAC (Tucson)

President-Elect: (Open)

Secretary: Nicole Fordey, LCSW, LISAC, CCTP (Glendale)

Treasurer: (Open)

Northern Arizona Regional Vice President: (Open)
Southern Arizona Regional Vice President: Catherine Horton, MS, LISAC, CCTS-A (Tucson)
Central Arizona Regional Vice President: Trish Hernandez, PsyD, LISAC (Phoenix)

AAAP Committees

Bylaws – Chair: Linda L. Paquette, MS, LISAC, MAC, SAP (Lake Havasu City)

Clinical Standards and Ethics – Chair: Tanis Thouin, PhD, LISAC, CCTP (Tucson)

Membership – Chair: Heather Moore, LISAC, MAC (Tucson)

Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion & Communities of Color – Chair: Cynthia James, MA, LISAC, MAC (Phoenix)

Finance and Audit – Chair: AAAP Treasurer (open)

Public Policy – Co-Chairs: Robert Daughenbaugh, Jr., MSAC, LISAC (Phoenix) & Linda L. Paquette, MS, LISAC, MAC, SAP (Lake Havasu City)

Military and Veterans Affairs – Co-Chairs: Robert Daughenbaugh, Jr., MSAC, LISAC (Phoenix) & Mitchell Blocker, LMHC, LPC, SAP, CAP, LISAC, IC&RC (Tucson)

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.